School Logo





In Foundation Stage at Haggonfields, our children learn Phonics through ‘Letters and Sounds’. Phonics teaching takes place on a daily basis for all Foundation Stage children and teaching is differentiated according to children’s ability levels. Through Phonics, children develop their listening skills, learn how letters link to sounds, segment (‘sound out’) words and blend sounds to read, and segment letter-sounds to write words and sentences.


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Areas of Learning

We strive to create a child-led curriculum which inspires and motivates our children and enables them to develop a capacity and love for learning, as well as providing them with a secure basis on which to build their confidence, manage their feelings and form relationships. We provide a multitude of activities and experiences to suit a range of learning styles, and place emphasis on the importance of first-hand experience and exploration in enabling young children to learn more about the world around them. We teach to the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum, within which there are 7 areas of learning. These are split into the prime and specific areas but are all important and inter-connected:


The Prime Areas

  1. Communication and Language
  2. Physical Development
  3. Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The Specific Areas

  1. Literacy
  2. Mathematics
  3. Understanding the world
  4. Expressive arts and design



When in Foundation Stage, the children are observed and assessed informally throughout the year to ensure that activities and experiences are planned for that meet their developing needs and their ‘next steps’ in learning. Towards the end of the year, these informal assessments are culminated to reach a judgement for the 17 Early Learning Goals (ELGs) in the Early Years Foundation Stage Profile. They assess whether a child has achieved the ELGs, which is expressed as:

  • ‘Emerging’ (not yet attaining the ELG)
  • Attaining ‘expected’ (reaching the level of development needed for the end of the Reception (F2) year
  • ‘Exceeding’ (attaining beyond the ELG)

Information is also gathered throughout the year on ‘The Characteristics of Effective Learning’, which look at how children play and explore, whether they are active learners and whether they are able to create and think critically.